Seven Continents, Fifty+ Countries!

Our Latest Travel Milestones  January 2018

I had wondered, is New Zealand considered part of the continent of Australia? I grew up with the notion of 7 continents on Earth: specifically, Africa, Antarctica, Asia, Australia, Europe, North America, and South America. Even if you subscribe to a newer 5-continent theory – Africa, America, Antarctica, Eurasia, and Oceania, as Loren and I neared visiting New Zealand, I wanted to be sure where this two-island country fit in and learned that both New Zealand and Australia are parts of Oceania. I will still consider the Earth to have seven continents, it is just that they are now called Africa, Antarctica, Asia, Europe, Oceania, North America and South America. And, Loren and I have stepped foot on our seventh – first on Australia during a layover that then brought us to land in New Zealand.

antarcticamap 2.jpg

Also, in looking back to last year – 2017, with visiting Portugal and Spain, Egypt and Nepal, and now this year with spending time in Bhutan, and, *if* you allow us to count making stopovers in airports in Qatar, United Arab Emirates, Malaysia, and Australia, New Zealand makes a milestone 51st country that Loren and I have been to in our lives, forty-two of them on this Journey together. We have unending gratitude for our fortune to travel so in the world… 


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s